Plugging a Tire

/ Plugging a Tire #1  

Briarwood

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710
I have a Kubota B2710 with a little over 500 hours on a set of R4 tires. This spring, I was driving around a small field of CRP and ran over a deer antler shed that punctured my right rear tire. I removed the antlers and noticed the pucture was not leaking air, apparently since I filled the back tires with sealant I bought from TSC about 5 years ago. I have put off doing anything about it because it has not leaked until now. I noticed that the sealant has been seeping out the puncture now that the weather has turned colder. Can I simply plug the tire from the outside with it on the tractor or do I need to have the dealer remove the tire and fix it from the inside? Will the sealant in the tires cause a problem? I have very little knowledge of mechanics and have not faced this before. I would appreciate your suggestions.
Briarwood

/ Plugging a Tire #2  
I would try more of the fix-a-flat stuff. It may last five more years.
That's what I do with my riding lawnmower.

/ Plugging a Tire #3  
I agree. You may get off cheap. Or you could also try a plug although I don't know if the sealant that is already in there would affect the plugs ability to stick. If you do try a plug start by turning the wheel until the hole is near the top. Then block the axle and let the air out of the tire. Use a small drill or file to clean the hole and then try the plug. I would think that as long as the hole is no bigger than 1/8 to 1/4 inch and clean a plug should work. If it doesn't the you're only out a couple of bucks.

/ Plugging a Tire #4