Tire chain damage

/ Tire chain damage #1  

Gamemaster

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L2350DT
I have never used chains before, received my set of rear chains and spring tensioners ( tirechains.com 2-link ladder)) for my 13.6-16 turfs. I put them on , but they seem a little crooked , looking at the view from the rim, but seem pretty snug. My main question is: Do loose chains damage the tire?. or can you ride on loose chains as long as they are not hitting the tractor anywhere?. I not sure how tight or loose chains need to be?. I figure tight as
possible and how much slop is acceptable?.

/ Tire chain damage #2  
I just bought a set of chains today for my Kubota. The guy at the store said the rears should be as tight as possible, the fronts a bit loose. Because of steering a looser tire chain will give when the tire turns. He said to put the fronts on as tight as you can and not use stretchers this will leave enough play.

/ Tire chain damage #3  
I have always run tight chains,if to loosen chain link can cause wear on the links,plus if you should get stuck and spin the tires chain could roll off. ;(

/ Tire chain damage #4  
Thomas said:
I have always run tight chains,if to loosen chain link can cause wear on the links,plus if you should get stuck and spin the tires chain could roll off. ;(

I agree with you, I was surprised at the advice, but he didn't say loose he said just loose enough to be able to squeeze your hand under the cross chain. I'm thinking I see his point if the chain is tight and you turn with the chain making ground contact it may tear up the tire. If there is a little play the chain could move a little and maybe save the tire. As far as wear on the links, these things are big. The cross chains are grade 70.

I noticed you're from NH, I bought the chains at B&B Chain
a division of Chappel Tractor in Milford so I think I'll try it and see. They have more knowhow than me, hopefully.

/ Tire chain damage #5