520-H problems

/ 520-H problems #1  

ringo6921

Tractor
Toro Wheel Horse 520-H
I inherited a 1993 Toro Wheel Horse 520-H with a 60-inch deck when I bought my house 5 years ago. This thing is a monster, but has been running well until recently. I turned the key and absolutely nothing. Thought it was the battery so I jump-started it and off I went. It worked for a couple of weekends, then, after using it and turning it off, I tried to restart it. It cranked, didn't quite catch. Then it died again completely, no solenoid click, no indicator lights, nothing. Trying to save time and a repair bill I replaced the ignition switch, and still nothing.

I assume the problem is electrical, maybe a problem with a safety cutout or relay. My repair place can't pick it up for 3 weeks minimum. Anyone have an idea of what I could do to get it going again? I'm no mechanic, just handy and curious and up to my knees in weeds. Thanks.

/ 520-H problems #2  
I inherited a 1993 Toro Wheel Horse 520-H with a 60-inch deck when I bought my house 5 years ago. This thing is a monster, but has been running well until recently. I turned the key and absolutely nothing. Thought it was the battery so I jump-started it and off I went. It worked for a couple of weekends, then, after using it and turning it off, I tried to restart it. It cranked, didn't quite catch. Then it died again completely, no solenoid click, no indicator lights, nothing. Trying to save time and a repair bill I replaced the ignition switch, and still nothing.

I assume the problem is electrical, maybe a problem with a safety cutout or relay. My repair place can't pick it up for 3 weeks minimum. Anyone have an idea of what I could do to get it going again? I'm no mechanic, just handy and curious and up to my knees in weeds. Thanks.

Are you sure the battery is good? These can just die and leave you scratching your head. This would be the first thing I checked.