Horse Trailer Purchase

/ Horse Trailer Purchase #1  

BrianC

Tractor
Kubota L5030
We are new to the horse owning group. Our daughter has her own horse and really wants to take her horse to lessons and to some of the shows she has started.

Obviously this makes it neccessary to have a horse trailer so I guess it is up to me to take care of this. I would like to get whatever advise you might have on looking for a good trailer including whatever you might suggest on the towing vehicle.

Its just one horse with a weight of about 1100 lbs.

In addition would you care to talk to me about the proper procedure of trailering a horse. Safety issues, loading, anything you would care to share. I have no experience with this and realize I have a pretty precious cargo.

Many thanks and kind regards

Brian

/ Horse Trailer Purchase #2  
Holy cow that is a book to write about about all that! LOL. Well first of all it sounds like you would need a two horse trailer to do this. Let me ask you a few questions.

1. What kind of a rig are you going to be using to tow the trailer?

2. What's your price range on a trailer?

3. How far are you planning on hauling?

4. Are you planning on spending nights or just one day deals?

Let me know those answers and I can better answer your questions about what to buy.

/ Horse Trailer Purchase #3  
After a traumatic incident resulting in an old trailer turning over on the highway (I don't want to re-live the details, but the horse was OK), we did exhausive research into horse trailer safety. That trailer was totaled and we got rid of the truck right away (gave it away). So, last summer we bought an EquiSpirit 2 horse trailer. Pulling it with an F-150. Check them out at www.equispirit.com. They are in NC and will deliver the goods to you. Or call Barbara Scheve at 877-575-1771. She will work harder to educate you than to sell you. Tell her I sent you. (satisfied customer)

Jeremy Levine in the Bluegrass State