chain/binders

/ chain/binders #1  

buck12

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota 5460HSTC
I recently bought my first tractor (Mahindra 2615). I bought a trailer with the tractor. I have several questions as to what to buy to tie the tractor down.
1. What are the advantages/disadvantages of lever verses ratchet binders? It seems like with the ratchet binders you could get them in a position where they cannot be tightened.
2. I think I need four binders and 5/16 chain for the tractor and a heavy strap for implement(s). Does this sound sufficient?
3. As to chain, do most of you use one long chain per binder putting the binder in the middle of the chain to take up slack or do you use a short chain at each end of the binder?
4. So far I知 thinking of buying the Harbor Freight binders. I have yet to decide where to buy the chain. Any thoughts?

Thanks for any input. I want to make sure I do this safely and as cost effective as possible. I have no experience towing a tractor but have towed boats, stock trailers, and many other items. My concern is not towing the tractor but strapping it to the trailer.

/ chain/binders #2  
Have to post my opinion on Binders- I hate the ratchet binders. Bought 2 after reading others who liked them, and have tried to use them. The handle always seems to be in the wrong spot.After ratcheting for a while you figure out there is too much chain and you unwind them and try again. this week I'm buying the lever binders. Much easier to use and store.

/ chain/binders #3  
I know I am in the minority here, but I use straps. I just get ones that are overrated for the job, and use them. They work for truckers, and are very handy. Just my experience.

/ chain/binders #4  
You will get lots of different opinions on this. Here's my take on it.

I kept my chains and binders when I sold off my heavier trucks and equipment.