10,000 LB HITCH

/ 10,000 LB HITCH #1  

bjess8

Bronze Member
Tractor
GRAND L3130
Ok you all know I am pretty new with pulling trailers so here it is.
My friend has a 10,000 lb trailer i am geussing it's GVW But anyhow he asked me what for hitch was on my 05 chevy 2500 diesel,of course I did not know so when I got my trailer break box put in I ask the trailer place and they told me it was rated at 7500 lbs.Now does this mean I can not pull a trailer that is rated at 10,000
My friend says I can not pull his unless I had a 10,000 lb hitch.why do they not put a 10,000 lb hitch on them from factory?OH also my friend has a 99 f150 and put a 10,000 lb hitch on it and says he is legal and I would not be.
any info would be great and again I am still really new with trailers and pulling and alot I learn is from this sight.
thanks

/ 10,000 LB HITCH #2  
There is a sticker on your hitch. It will say that you can attach a trailer with a certain tongue weight and a certain total weight with and without a Weight Distribution Hitch assembly. The 750/7500 is likely the allowable trailer that can be towed with just a plain old ball hitch inserted into your receiver. To legally tow the higher WDH rating you need to acquire a WDH from a company like EZlift or Reese.

If the trailer is unloaded and doesn't actually weigh 10,000# then it is safe to tow it with the lower rated hardware that corresponds with the actual trailer weight. I don't know if it is legal or not though.

An S-10 pickup could tow that trailer empty since it will only weigh 2500# or so.

A standard class 3 hitch is rated to tow 10,000 with the WDH. It is OEM on most every full sized truck sold. The GM hitch on your truck is a piece of crap that actually bolts to the bumper for support but it has high ratings. Find the sticker and read it.

I use a WDH on my F350 to tow my 10,400# rated trailer.

/ 10,000 LB HITCH #3