Towing manure spreader

/ Towing manure spreader #1  

canoetrpr

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M7040 cab/hyd shuttle - current, Kubota L3400 - traded
I'm sure that this is a silly question but I'm pretty new to trucks and towing. I've got an eye out for a manure spreader (single axle not big) and want to be in a position to two one home if I pick one up at an auction.

Have a Ford F150. Do I just need a standard ball mount without the ball and a drawbar pin or some other type of setup?

I might tow it from upto an hr or so away so I have to be able to do it safely at 55-60 mph.

I imagine I also need a safety chain.

Would appreciate any information.

/ Towing manure spreader #2  
Agricultural tires used on manure spreaders are not designed for high speeds. It is likely if you towed it that fast that far they would fly appart.
Also, depending on the condition of the spreader, it might not make it that far. Before you go any distance at all, make sure it is greased really good.
I brought one home towing it, but I took back roads and went slow. Stop and check for heat in the bearings.

/ Towing manure spreader #4  
You just need a blank ball mount with a hitch pin and SAFETY pin.

Get a hitch pin that fits as tight as possible in the tongue and hitch holes.

60 mph will probably be a little fast but 40-45 mph is perfectly acceptable.

Safety chain is probably a good idea.

Keep in mind a manure spreader is basically a trailer so it will tow quite well.

/ Towing manure spreader #5  
They don't tow very well and if I just bought one, i would certainly trailer it. You have no idea if the wheels are straight, the bearings are greased, the lights work, etc.

Just pull it right up (or hook the front to the FEL) and push it right up some ramps.
chain it down, then get it home.

/ Towing manure spreader #6