Wells Cargo TW121V

/ Wells Cargo TW121V #1  

parallel

Bronze Member
Tractor
None... yet.
Wells Cargo V-Front Tote Wagon - Wells Cargo Corporation

I am thinking of buying one of these trailers to be used (among other uses) as my evacuation rig. Any opinions on quality and such would be greatly appreciated. I'll be towing it with My old beat up Chevy Z-71 some of the time, but mostly it would be towed with my Nissan Pathfinder. Does anyone foresee any issues with the Nissan handling the towing duty for this trailer? Also, Ill be paying right around $3600 for it new, seems like a good price to me, but I am a novice when it comes to trailers.

/ Wells Cargo TW121V #2  
Looks like a nice trailer but the price seems high. I am in the trailer business and there are a few things I see. I sell boat trailers and car haul/landscape trailers but never a cargo trialer in the 8 years I have been doing it so this is general stuff I see.

First it has not brakes and will push around the Nissan. The law in most states is brakes are required for any trailer over 3,000#. The max weight for the trailer you are looking at is 2,990#. That is for a reason. The axle is actually a 3,500# axle but they have derated it for this purpose. The second thing I see is its empty weight is about 1,320#. Add a spare and other things most people carry with a trailer and you are limited to about 1,500# carrying capacity and that is not much. Also look at the tires. Make sure they say Radial. If it has Bias pass. Bias are ok for super heavy loads like a Backhoe Trailer but on a trailer like this one that will be used very rarely they will cause problems with flat spotting.

I would do some shopping around. My co workers son got a good deal on a single axle trailer from Lowes. Its not as fancy but does the same task for much less $$$$.

Chris

/ Wells Cargo TW121V #3