Oil pan - Use gasket or Hi Temp Red RTV

/ Oil pan - Use gasket or Hi Temp Red RTV #1  

thatguy

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 2320
I had the auto transmission (2500 Dodge Ram Cummins - 47RE) serviced about a year ago and had the repair shop install a new OEM transmission gasket (which i was thinking was rubber-ish)..

It appears that the pan is now leaking so I may need to drop the pan and do something with the gasket so it stops (after I check to make sure the bolts are not loose)..

Do you recommend using a new gasket OR making my own gasket with Permatex High Temp Red RTV gasket maker?

Specs call for 13/ft-lbs for the gasket but the RTV says something like - outline pan edge and around the bolt holes, let it set up, tighten until it oozes out.. Wait an hour and then tighten another 1/2 to 3/4 turn..

I have never used RVT before and not so sure about the bolts not being very tight - which method would least likely leak?

Brian

/ Oil pan - Use gasket or Hi Temp Red RTV #2  
I had the auto transmission (2500 Dodge Ram Cummins - 47RE) serviced about a year ago and had the repair shop install a new OEM transmission gasket (which i was thinking was rubber-ish)..

It appears that the pan is now leaking so I may need to drop the pan and do something with the gasket so it stops (after I check to make sure the bolts are not loose)..

Do you recommend using a new gasket OR making my own gasket with Permatex High Temp Red RTV gasket maker?

Specs call for 13/ft-lbs for the gasket but the RTV says something like - outline pan edge and around the bolt holes, let it set up, tighten until it oozes out.. Wait an hour and then tighten another 1/2 to 3/4 turn..

I have never used RVT before and not so sure about the bolts not being very tight - which method would least likely leak?

Brian