New law I missed??? Merging traffic?

/ New law I missed??? Merging traffic? #1  

sandman2234

Tractor
JD2555 and a few Allis Chalmers and now one Kubota
I drive a tractor trailer, but I am sure many of you experience the same problems when towing your tractors from place to place, if you venture out onto the interstate system.
Since I tend to drive with the slower part of the traffic flow, I generally hang out in the right lane of the Interstate while doing my job. I do have a truck capable of left lane speeds, but that takes fuel and my boss appreciates it when I keep my fuel mileage up. Staying in the right lane tends to have it's problems, with people going slower, but that is ok. The other problem I have noticed is merging traffic. Over the years, as a courteous driver, I tend to notice that the better drivers try to move over for merging traffic, partly from courteous and the other because if they don't, they will get slowed down from them, which isn't something we making a living (or paying for the fuel) want. So we move over as cars come up the acceleration ramps. However, if a vehicle is in the left lane next to us, invisible to the merging vehicle, it isn't possible for us to move over. In the last few years I have noticed vehicle (ok, CAR!!) drivers coming up the ramp and NEVER looking until they are at the end of the ramp. If the truck driver hasn't had the courtesy, the room, or just the inclination to move over, the CAR!! has to jam on their brakes and wait for an opening in traffic to go from a dead stop into 70mph traffic. After pulling out in front of somebody else, the next thing they do is chase the truck down, pass them, and wave frantically with one finger, or better yet, pull over in front of them and SLAM on the brakes, causing the trucker to HAVE to slow down for them. (upsetting the load, the driver, and possible killing the CAR driver, reactions)