2012 Ford F-150 buying advice

/ 2012 Ford F-150 buying advice #1  

EddieWalker

Epic Contributor
Tractor
Several, all used and abused.
I've been reading and reading up on what's available out there in new trucks and think I've come to a decision on what I want. My current 1998 F250 is a regular cab, 8ft bed 4x4 4.6 V8. It's never given me any trouble, but it does have almost 190,000 miles on it and I'm getting nervous that it's time is about up.

I like the idea of the V6 engine, but can only get the EB with the 8ft bed. I've tried and tried to accept the 6 1/2 foot bed, but every time I go to Home Depot or Lowes and see the guys with the little beds try to load up materials, I know its not for me. I remodel houses for a living and need as much room in the bed as I can get. I also want the Supercab to store tool boxes in out of the weather and away from potential theft.

With the 2013 models coming out pretty soon, I've been emailing some of the local dealers on what I want.

2012 FORD F-150 2WD SuperCab 8 Ft Box XLT serving Terrell Mesquite Dallas Kaufman Canton Texas

$25,669 for an XLT seems to be the best price so far. Has anybody done better then this? Can I get them down any more?

Before I buy, am I missing something in the other brands? I'm open to re looking at them, but they have to offer an 8ft bed with the extra cab and decent milage.

This is a work truck that will get me to the job with whatever I need to get the job done. I'm not towing anything and don't want to tow anything. I can get anything delivered for such a small amount that there is no reason to pay for more power in a truck.

Thank you,
Eddie

/ 2012 Ford F-150 buying advice #2  
I've been reading and reading up on what's available out there in new trucks and think I've come to a decision on what I want. My current 1998 F250 is a regular cab, 8ft bed 4x4 4.6 V8. It's never given me any trouble, but it does have almost 190,000 miles on it and I'm getting nervous that it's time is about up.