Trailer Brakes Overheating

/ Trailer Brakes Overheating #1  

Hanksride

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L2800
Ok, I am fairly new to the world of electric trailer brakes so please lend me some knowledge.

I have a 2010 18ft tandem axle dovetail trailer for hauling my L2800 on not to mention jeeps, smaller tractors etc. I recently installed a Tekonsha P3 brake controller on my 2004 Z-71 pickup. I bought the trailer when it was a year old, owned by an old man and I don't think the trailer brakes were ever used on it. The trailer was kept inside a shed and probably didn't have 2 to 3 pulls on it, just like new.

I hooked the brake controller up as directed and made all the adjustments then loaded the tractor for a quick 10 mile round trip run to try it out. The rear axle (brake axle) got so hot I could smell it when I got home and I couldn't touch the wheels but for about 1 second. I figured, the brakes had not been used, maybe corroded a bit and needed to wear in then this should stop. Since then I have made a few more short runs with tractor, all within 10 miles of the house and I get the same result. I haven't smelled them any more but the wheels are still extremely hot.

I hooked it all up and jacked up one side and spun the wheel with both the brakes hooked up and with them unhooked, and the wheel spun the same (very freely) both ways. I thought I might be getting bled voltage causing them to engage slightly, but it doesn't appear to be that.

I tried once to get one of the hubs off but it didn't want to come off easily and I didn't have time to play with it long so I never actually got it removed.

Any ideas?? How warm or hot should the hubs and wheels actually get. As for stopping, they seem to be working very well except for getting pretty hot.

Thanks,

/ Trailer Brakes Overheating #2  
Are the bearings shot and over heating? Can you set the brakes too come on less?

/ Trailer Brakes Overheating #3