Is this right? I can tow MORE with a bumper pull than I can a Gooseneck?

/ Is this right? I can tow MORE with a bumper pull than I can a Gooseneck? #1  

Piston

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L4610 Hitachi UH083LC
I'm thinking about my next trailer purchase, and it seems like everyone is recommending Gooseneck trailers for heavy loads, so I'm keeping an open mind about it. I've never used one before but I'm up for trying new things.

My tow vehicle is a 1999 F-350 with the 7.3 diesel. It has a GVWR of 10k lbs. (Actually 9,900 but for the sake of easy math, 10k).

My current trailer is an 18' Hudson with a 4T capacity, trailer weighs close to 2k lbs. I have overloaded it a couple of times which I prefer not to do, but my main concern is that I really don't have enough real estate on the trailer, it's just too short. Ideally I'd like a 26' bumper pull style trailer with either a 14k or 16k lb weight rating, not including the trailer itself.

I started doing some math (oh boy did my little brain hurt afterwards!)

I figure my truck weighs around 7,500lbs, so that leaves me with 2500lbs left to load on the truck. If I had a 26' GN style trailer, it would weigh around 6k lbs, so let's assume it was 16k lb trailer, that leaves me with 10k lb payload...HOWEVER, the recommended 25% tongue weight would be 4k lbs, which is quite a bit over my payload capacity on my truck.

If I used a 26' bumper pull, it would weigh around 4300lbs, and I'd be able to put a total of 11,700lbs on the trailer itself, and have a tongue weight of around 1600 lbs.

It seems to me that I will have more ability to tow a heavier trailer....LEGALLY, than I would on the Gooseneck.

Am I doing this right? (FYI, I'm using PJ trailers as my baseline for weights because they list pretty good figures on they're website, who knows if they are accurate or not).

/ Is this right? I can tow MORE with a bumper pull than I can a Gooseneck? #2