Truck Rental/Transporting from Canada

/ Truck Rental/Transporting from Canada #1  

jimmy2oo3

Tractor
Allis Chalmers D17, Allis Chalmers B
Hi,

I just put a deposit down today on a 1990 Kubota L2850 loader/backhoe located in Canada (I'm in New York about 5 1/2 hours away). I'm now looking for the best way to transport the tractor. My truck is not equipped for towing and was wondering if anyone knew if it is possible to rent a truck to tow the tractor (or possibly a flatbed truck) without having a special driver's license? I would love to be able to go myself to not only see the tractor and pay in person, but also I feel that it would make getting the tractor through customs easier.

Otherwise, does anyone have any experience importing a tractor from Canada to the US? The dealer assured me that they sell tractors to people in the US all the time and that it's a simple process, but I've never done it before and want everything to go smoothly.

Thanks in advance!

/ Truck Rental/Transporting from Canada #2  
Hi,

I just put a deposit down today on a 1990 Kubota L2850 loader/backhoe located in Canada (I'm in New York about 5 1/2 hours away). I'm now looking for the best way to transport the tractor. My truck is not equipped for towing and was wondering if anyone knew if it is possible to rent a truck to tow the tractor (or possibly a flatbed truck) without having a special driver's license? I would love to be able to go myself to not only see the tractor and pay in person, but also I feel that it would make getting the tractor through customs easier.

Otherwise, does anyone have any experience importing a tractor from Canada to the US? The dealer assured me that they sell tractors to people in the US all the time and that it's a simple process, but I've never done it before and want everything to go smoothly.

Thanks in advance!