Dump Truck or Trailer?

/ Dump Truck or Trailer? #1  

crashz

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L2501, JD LT150, DR Field Mower
I've lost the battle with rust on my dump truck.

I love the little truck, but I've been working on it for a solid 5 years and have used it a handful of times. It has had major issues, mostly frame related, and all of my attempts at saving it have failed. I've done everything but sand blast and paint, and that should have been done first. Its not fixable now and I don't have the time to due a frame transplant.

I have some dump truck work this summer that I have been putting off for a few years and cannot put off any longer. It involves bringing (stone, loam and brush) materials to and from my house, hauling fire wood to my parents house and hauling junk from our property in NY. I need more capacity than my pick-up and need it soon so that we can put our house on the market.

So...

Do I look for another truck? I've narrowed my wants to a late 90's 2wd 3500HD or F450 series truck (15Klb GVWR) that has not been a plow and sander truck.
Or...
Get a dump trailer?

I would like to buy another truck. SWMBO - does not agree. The pricing for the initial purchase will be about the same but the operating costs vastly favor the dump trailer. The upside of the truck is that it could be used by other people (my father and uncle maybe) and with that I might be able to squeeze out some help with these tasks. My pickup would also not be exposed to accidental damage vs a few dents in a dump truck that add character. But I have wasted an incredible amount of money on the truck I have, without any work done.

Thoughts?

PS - the 87 will not go to waste though. I will use it (it has pristine sheet metal) to restore my 83.

/ Dump Truck or Trailer? #2