Truck ton ratings....

/ Truck ton ratings.... #1  

Retiredguy2

Gold Member
Tractor
Deere 4410
I have never quite understood why people continue to use the antiquated system of rating trucks by half ton, three quarter ton, one ton, etc. This would include both light trucks and medium duties...indeed, the last medium duty truck I drove for a living was termed a 3 ton truck by the old system although it was rated by the factory for over 30,000 GVWR and the base chassis weighed only about 14,000 pounds. I say it is time to update the ton ratings and not just go by the classes 1 thru 8.

/ Truck ton ratings.... #2  
Because tradition is the hardest thing to start and stop. Look at how long we have been trying to convert to the metric system.

90% of the people have no idea on the class system and would just ask, "Is it a half ton?".

/ Truck ton ratings.... #3  
It's like trying to get people to stop calling a performance tune or programmer a 'chip'. Pulling an ECM to install one has not happened in ages.

Rating by class is the best way.

/ Truck ton ratings....
Because tradition is the hardest thing to start and stop. Look at how long we have been trying to convert to the metric system.

90% of the people have no idea on the class system and would just ask, "Is it a half ton?".

That would probably be easier to remember than asking: "Is it a 453.592 kilogram?". To me the metric system never has and never will make any sense at all.

/ Truck ton ratings.... #5  
That would probably be easier to remember than asking: "Is it a 453.592 kilogram?". To me the metric system never has and never will make any sense at all.

The metric system is much more intuitively designed than the antiquated imperial system.

In the metric system, 1 cm = 10 mm, 1 m = 100 cm = 1000 mm, and 1 km = 1000 m. 1 kg = 1000 g and 1 ton = 1000 kg. Water freezes at 0C and boils at 100C.