Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent??

/ Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent?? #1  

Schmoopette

Tractor
None Yet
Hi y'all-

I'm a tractor rookie. I'm hoping to purchase my first tractor via auction. Problem is, it's 1000 miles away. I have a Chevy Suburban. The tractor weighs 5000, plus there are 3 implements with it to add weight. Assuming my truck can pull the weight, is there anywhere that rents a trailer capable of hitching onto my suburban? We have the sway braces and all that from pulling a heavy camping trailer. If so, where do you recommend? The shipping would be $2400. So, if I can do myself, I will...

Thoughts?

If I'm being foolish or stupid, let me know.

/ Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent?? #2  
Spend that shipping money on a trailer to haul it with and you will have free rides to a dealership should it ever need service you cannot do. Then you can start looking at craigslist more often, because you will have a trailer that can bring almost anything home :)

/ Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent??
Ok.. but do companies rent these trailers? Just wondering in case I'm in a jam and have to do this real quick (too quick to buy the trailer). I'm super impulsive, and my husband likes slow methodical research. I want it now :-D

/ Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent?? #4  
Ok.. but do companies rent these trailers? Just wondering in case I'm in a jam and have to do this real quick (too quick to buy the trailer). I'm super impulsive, and my husband likes slow methodical research. I want it now :-D

I do not know about up there but around here you can rent trailers like that. I do not know that I would take one across country, they are typically rented by people who are not very nice to them when they have them.

/ Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent?? #5  
If you post more specifics we may be able to help you size trailers. Also you may want to try to find a shipper. Look at Uship

/ Transporting Tractor 1000 miles, Rent?? #6