Elect. Trailer Brakes and Tractors?

/ Elect. Trailer Brakes and Tractors? #1  

scotd1

Bronze Member
I have a JD 5410 w/MFWD and am looking to use my dump trailer with it. To really get any use out of it I need to use the electric brakes on the trailer. I am fairly new to the world of electric trailer brakes and would like to know if there is a way to safely use them with this tractor?

<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1>Edited by scotd1 on 04/03/01 03:35 PM (server time).</FONT></P>

/ Elect. Trailer Brakes and Tractors? #2  
To use the trailer brakes you would have to splice into the brake wire on the tractor and hook up an electric brake controller box, look in the owner's manual for the schematic. Otherwise you can attach a live wire from the battery and hook that to an electric brake controller and connect the trailer brakes to this and push this on and off as needed.

18-35034-TRACTO~1.GIF

/ Elect. Trailer Brakes and Tractors? #3  
I have given this some thought also - most electric brake controllers need a electrical signal that the brake petal has been depresses, ie. add brake light switch to tractor (a challange exist with tractor with two brake petals, both would need switches or petals locked together). I know there are at least two types of brake controllers, inertia and those that have a delay off the brake light circuit. I'm not sure that the tractor would gain the inertia needed, so delay type would be my choice. You would just mount the controller in a covenient place (meeting mounting angle restrictions) and wire up circuit following the directions. Hot from the battery, line to and from brake petal switch, and wire and ground to trailer. This I how I have thought out a solution. Any other suggestion from the readers?

/ Elect. Trailer Brakes and Tractors? #4