Good trailer length/width for tractor & bush hog?

/ Good trailer length/width for tractor & bush hog? #1  

willy1947

Silver Member
Tractor
Kubota L3830 GST
I hope to purchase a Kubota L3830 with FEL and 6' bush hog.

Just wondering what size/length of trailer I should get. I have lots of experience with trailers, so I've got a good idea but thought I would get some input since I've rarely hauled a tractor w/FEL and with bush hog attached.

I am thinking about a 16'+2' dovetail that is extra wide (6'10" between fender wells). I know the bush hog will stick out a little, but that is ok. However, I've found a good deal on a 16' with 6'4" between the fender wells. I'm afraid this is too short and possibly the rails on the sides would be too narrow for a bush hog to fit between.

How do those of you load a tractor with FEL and bush hog? How well do they balance on a trailer? Could you load the bush hog up front and then pull the tractor up behind it and have the FEL over the top of the bush hog? I think this would help save length, but what about tongue weight?

I would go with a gooseneck, but $$$ is an issue. I used to have a 30' gooseneck, sure wish I still did /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif

It will be towed behind a 2004 Dodge 3500 dually, 4x4, with the cummins and 6 speed. So, my tow vehicle should handle anything I put behind it /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif

Thanks,
Dave

/ Good trailer length/width for tractor & bush hog? #2  
I use a 20' Hudson to haul my L3130 w/ 5' bush hog.The tail wheel just hangs off the back.

/ Good trailer length/width for tractor & bush hog? #3  
I have a 20" and i believe it's 6'6" wide. it's rated at 7000 lbs.
I like it cause i can put a set of disc's and my tractor and bushhog on it fine.