Do I Need Trailer Brake?

/ Do I Need Trailer Brake? #1  

Olympus

Platinum Member
Tractor
LS R3039
I just bought a 16ft tandem axle trailer to tow my tractor and brush hog out to my land. The trailer will be a little project as it needs completely rewired for lights, needs a new deck, etc. I figured after I remove the deck boards, I’d go ahead and rewire the lights. Wondering if I should go ahead and wire it for trailer brakes or not. The seller said the front axle had electric brake, but they’d never hooked it up. My tractor weighs about 4000lbs and my brush hog is a 5ft Standard Duty Howse. I’m pulling it with a 2016 F150 that already has integrated brake controller. I only tow my tractor to the property about 2 to 3 times a year and the property is 25 miles door to door from my house.

Rewiring the standard lights would be no problem, but I have no experience wiring trailer brake or even how to adjust them, etc. Do I really need the electric brake or will I be ok without?

FYI, my state doesn’t say it’s mandatory. Only on gooseneck/5th wheel trailers or trailers hauling over 3000lbs of hazardous materials. So legally I’m not required to have them.

/ Do I Need Trailer Brake? #2  
You absolutely want trailer brakes on a tandem trailer....Without them, you're relying on your truck brakes to stop 2.5+ tons of trailer weight. Not a good thing whether it's required or not. Ideally the brakes should be on both axles as well.

/ Do I Need Trailer Brake? #3