Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Platinum Member
    Tractor
    no tractor now

Default why have 5th wheel and gooseneck couplings?

Why do you have 5th wheel couplings for camper/rv type vehicles but use a gooseneck coupling for equipment/haulage type trailers?
    I am from new zealand and we didn't have these here (5th wheels have made an appearance in the last 5 years), so I have zero knowledge of the pro's and con's for either type of hitch.

Towing wise we use bumper pull trailers, up to 2.5 ton over-run braked or 3.5 ton electric braked. If we haul heavier then we use a truck (class 2 or class 4 depending on weight) . The US CDL @ class 8 weight = our class 5

Tractor
    New Holland TC40D

Default Re: why have 5th wheel and gooseneck couplings?

That's an interesting question.

Most times in US, Gooseneck is used for utility type trailers; flatbed trailers, dump trailers, horse trailers etc. 5th wheels are predominately used for RV trailers.

Comparison of Gooseneck and 5th Wheel Towing | etrailer.com
    RobertN in Shingle Springs Calif

Silver Member
    Tractor
    Farmall A, Allis Chalmers C, VW Rabbit (repowered with a Geo engine} tractor/backhoe, Cat D4-7U

In some locations a goose-neck will be considered noncommercial and be licensed differently than a fifth-wheel. If the fifth-wheel is a camper then it is considered an RV and registered differently again. So some of the choice is based upon the state's DMV.

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    John Deere 5083E MFWD, Kubota L3400 HST

I don't think it has anything to do with registration type. PA doesn't care about that atleast. RV has their own standards to be able to register that way. Fifth wheel is generally considered a stronger/safer connection but lacks articulation that a gooseneck has.
    '11 John Deere 5083E, 563NSL Loader, MX10 Mower, 78" Bucket, Forks/Bale spear (interchangeable)