Trailer Troubles / Decisions

/ Trailer Troubles / Decisions #1  

Yooper3830

I have a Kubota L3830 HST with 723 FEL and fluid in the tires. I've got about 45 hours on it (primarily making food plots for deer). I have a 20 acres with my house (5 acres maintained and 2 camps each without about 5 acres of "maintainable" land. Camps are about 20 and 35 miles from home. I plan to take the tractor to each place 2 - 4 x per year.

I've been borrowing a couple of trailers to get the tractor to the camps until I can save my $ for a trailer of my own.

I've learned a lot and I've had some scary trailer experiences. I have a 2000 GMC Sierra 1/2 ton with 3.73 gears and tranny cooler; seems to pull it fine.

The first trailer borrowing experience went OK. This past weekend I used a different trailer (7000#, 16') and had a lot of problems. First off I put the bucket behind the "rack" on the front of the trailer. I loosened the hitch from the truck with the tractor loaded and the trailer literally balanced with 2 fingers of pressure; wife heard my "panic whistles" and put jack stands underneath so I could pull the tractor forward. Then I bent one of the ramps a bit. Then one of them "kicked out" 1/2 way up. (ended up putting scrap boards under the FEL and using it to lift the front wheels while I backed the tractor off) I decided to back it into a ditch and load without ramps and proceeded to break the trailer lights. Whatta mess.

Also had one situation where, at about 50mph, the trailer started swaying bad - very scary. I thought I blew a tire but everything was fine. Stayed at 45mph after that with no issues. I know tongue wt loading can cause this but I balanced the trailer to where the truck squatted about 3" like I've been told.

With all that background; my questions...