How to balance load on a dual axle trailer

/ How to balance load on a dual axle trailer #1  

gordon21

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD 790
I have lots of experience towing various single axle boat/utility trailers up to about #3500 total load. I now need to learn the rules for towing with a 16' open bed landscape trailer with dual axles and one set of electric brakes on the rear axle. My rule in the past has been to have 60-65% of the weight in front of the single axle center line. A tongue weight that is too light is a very dangerous thing. Will that same rule still apply now? I am guessing that too much weight in front could cause the rear axle to not have enough downward pressure to brake effectively. I will be putting a JD 790 with FEL and filled tires on the trailer. The rig is about 13' long and the trailer is 16' Should I run the rig all the way to the front and let the bucket hit the front uprights or leave it further back by a foot or more? I am guessing the total weight of the tractor to be 3800# and the empty trailer about 1450# for a total weight of 5250# and the trailer is rated at 7000#. Do I need to possibly shift 60% of the weight directly over the two axles like a big tractor trailer combo. The thought of an unbalanced load (too light a tongue weight) at 50MPH scares the crap out of me. I have personally seen an accident happen where the boat trailer started swaying and the driver eventually lost control. It was not pretty. The combo jacknifed and skidded off the shoulder. The front 4' of the boat crushed in the back seat area on the side of the pickup. The trailer tongue bent around the rear of the pickup bed. The boat motor was about 3' in front of the front bumper. Imagine a very tight V. Luckily no one got hurt. Thanks to all of your knowledge shared on this forum, the tractor itself will be chained down at all four corners with 5/16" grade 70 chain and ratchet tighteners.

/ How to balance load on a dual axle trailer #2