Water hauling trailer

/ Water hauling trailer #1  

cp1969

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L3000DT
Is anybody familiar with the 1/4 ton military trailers?

I have one (M416) that came with my M151 jeep. It has served no purpose other than occupy shed space the entire time I've owned it.

I have been hauling water to our semi-newly planted trees for the last 2 1/2 months using tap water hauled in a garden tractor trailer using a mixture of 2 1/2, 5, and 23 gallon containers.

I'm sick of it.

Two miles away is a creek where I can load water. I want to put a poly tank and pump in this otherwise useless trailer and haul water, but is the load limit really a 1/4 ton?? I am hauling almost 50 gallons in that garden cart. To make this worthwhile, I think it needs to haul at least 100 gallons, preferably more. FWIW, 100 gallons is 830 lbs; 200 gallons is 1630 lb.

Vets (I am not one): How much have you carried on one of these little trailers with no ill effects?

Thanks.

/ Water hauling trailer #2  
I wouldn't be afraid to haul a 200 gal. tank on it if the trailer is still in good shape. The only concern that I would have is stopping it that M151 is a pretty light vehicle.

/ Water hauling trailer
The trailer looks to be in very good condition. The weakest point, I would guess, would be the tires. But if you think about it, 200 gallons is only 800 lbs per tire and some will go on the tongue.

/ Water hauling trailer #4  
Those trailers are pretty heavy duty. I wouldn't worry about a couple hundred gallons in it. I've seen them plied high with all sorts of stuff towed behind jeeps on some tough trails.

/ Water hauling trailer
That is a nice rig.