Trailering Newbie Questions

/ Trailering Newbie Questions #1  

Ben3130

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota L3130
Hi all,

I have been browsing this forum recently because the time has finally come where I need to start hauling my tractor locally and I have no experience with picking out the right setup.

I have a 2002 Chevy Silverado 1500 Extend Cab Z71 4wd with towing package and wired for electric brakes. My towing capacity is ~8,400# (I don't remember what the exact figure was from my owner's manual).

My tractor is a Kubota L3130 with ag tires (rears loaded) and FEL. I currently have a 7' rear blade and a 5' KingKutter bush hog. Ideally I would like to fit the tractor and the bush hog on the trailer together, but I am willing to transport the bush hog in the bed of the truck if necessary.

What trailer would you recommend for this setup? I have been looking at an 18' flat trailer. From what I have seen from pictures, I am hoping I could hang the FEL just over the front of the bed of the trailer. This would fit the entire tractor with just a small section of the bush hog hanging out the back between the ramps. I have no idea if this is ok or not. Also, I was told to get a 10,000# trailer because if I ever decided to get a backhoe, a 7,000# would not be enough.

Thanks in advance, this forum has helped me so much already, and I appreciate any help you trailering experts can provide.

/ Trailering Newbie Questions #2  
I had a 7K trailer and by the time I subtracted its weight I was down to 5K capacity pretty guick. My TLB set-up was right at my 5K limit and I believe my tractor was smaller than what you have. If I had it to do over I would have went with a 10K trailer. As for the trailer I like dove tails and adjustable ramps for sure. I had good luck with Big Tex trailers both from a cost and performance stand point :).

/ Trailering Newbie Questions