opinion of Carry-On trailers

/ opinion of Carry-On trailers #1  

GaryS

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L3901 & LA525
I've been looking for a used utility trailer but have not had any luck. I've started looking at new trailers. A local place has Carry-On trailers and I was quoted ~$1200 for this trailer.

Any opinions of Carry-on or the price?

/ opinion of Carry-On trailers #2  
Sounds reasonable to me..... i looked at a similar trailer here and it was priced at $1800.

/ opinion of Carry-On trailers #3  
Local Home Depot, Gander Mountain, and TSC stores have similar trailers. Don't know their prices but have seen the trailers.

/ opinion of Carry-On trailers #4  
I looked at a Carry-on trailer about a month ago.Not to buy,i was just wasting time waiting for the woman who was at the mall.By habit whenever i look at something that is basically a welded assembly,i always check out the welds,mostly because thats what i do for a living.
Anyway,the first trailer i looked at looked good,even the welds.But the second and third,the welds were terrible.Lots of porosity.Real bad.Not to say they are all like this,but it is a good place to start looking at the quality
of a trailer.Maybe it was a new guy with his first day on the job.
But nobody should have to pay for inferior craftsmanship.The design looked good and seemed like a good compromise between weight and strength
for the trailers intended use.But the welding quality didnt impress me.
Of course,this could be a isolated case.Pricewise $1200 doesnt seem too bad for that unit.
Three years ago i was looking for a used 16' tandem trailer to haul my tractor on,could'nt find one anywhere.So i bought new.Would'nt you know it 2 days later i found 3 used ones for sale.Maybe you could wait just a little longer and get a good deal on a used one unless you are in a hurry.
DIGGER2

/ opinion of Carry-On trailers
thanks for the comments. I didn't know these were the same ones offered by TSC & Home Depot.