Alternator not charging battery. Alternator, battery, and fuses all check out fine.

/ Alternator not charging battery. Alternator, battery, and fuses all check out fine. #1  

MomNottaMechanic

Tractor
TYM T450
If you're reading this, just know I am not a mechanic by habit. Husband is out of town for a while or I'd not be messing with this. So please forgive my ignorance should it show too much.

We have a TYM T450.

I am having to jump the battery on the tractor each time to get it to start. I assumed it was either the battery or the alternator that was the problem. I had both checked out by reliable mechanics that I could take them in to. Both checked out fine. I have downloaded the service manual and it shows the typical causes to be a belt that is not tight enough, bad battery or bad alternator. None of these hold true in this situation as best I can tell. I scrubbed down the posts with a cleaning tool my husband has and made sure everything was connected well. No problems there. I located each of the fuses and checked them with husband's meter thing. They all came out at .04 - .03. That seems to indicate they are fine. I've looked for any obvious wiring that might be loose, disconnected, or worn through. I can find nothing to indicate such.

The reason I really thought it would be the alternator is that when it is running, I disconnected the positive battery post connector and it instantly died. Also, when letting it run after having charged the battery, it looses charge slowly as the tractor is running (I watched it running down on the meter). However, the mechanic tested the alternator today and said it is just fine and recharges a battery there without issues. I had another mechanic check the battery and he said it was good to go.