T454 Loader Joystick Issue

/ T454 Loader Joystick Issue #1  

ID Corgi Ranch

Bronze Member
Tractor
JD 2038R w/Backhoe, JD X350
I have a T454 and I'm a little new to tractors. Using the FEL today I felt a "pop" or "snap" in the joystick. No hydraulic leaks. No other issues.

Now the joystick won't raise the loader. All other functions work fine. The joystick control will lower, dump and curl the bucket...just won't lift it. The joystick is complete limp...no resistance at all, when moving it to the rear (lift position).

I've removed the cover and boot around the joystick but don't see any obvious problems.

Any ideas? Of course the manual is of no use. I can't find an online diagram or parts catalog and can't call the dealer until Monday. Hoping someone might have some insight into what might be the issue.

/ T454 Loader Joystick Issue
Here's a few pics of the joystick control box (not sure what it's actually called. It appears to be a sealed unit. The cable that controls the inoperative cylinder appears to be attached at the hydraulic control manifold. I tried to loosen/remove the cable from the cylinder but it's still attached somewhere in the box. So I'm at a loss as to what to do next. Any advice or suggestions?

20180519_074343.jpg

20180519_073509.jpg

Attachments

• 20180519_074343.jpg
    20180519_074343.jpg
    338 KB · Views: 734
  • 20180519_073509.jpg
    20180519_073509.jpg
    264.9 KB · Views: 654
   / T454 Loader Joystick Issue #3  
My guess is your cable to the "bad" Cylinder snapped it happened to me a couple of winters ago. Jordan in Post Falls should have replacements in stock. I don't know if you could get a generic cable from a closer dealer. Connecting to the valve is easy but the upper end connects to the joystick and that took me much longer to figure out. You can switch your hydraulic lines if you need to raise your loader.

Below are pics of the joystick, I had to loosen all three of the "ball" ends to get the new cable into the slot.