auto darkening welding helmet

/ auto darkening welding helmet #1  

arrow

Tractor
Mahindra 3016
I notice the non-flip helmets (auto-darkening) for welding range in price from $60 to $300. Speeds of darkening seem to approach each other so I am wondering what would be the factors to cause such a pricing difference?

/ auto darkening welding helmet #2  
I bought a cheapo at Harbor freight and it works fine. I don't weld 8 hours a day though. If I did it for a living I would probably buy a higher priced one for the durability factor.

/ auto darkening welding helmet #3  
so I am wondering what would be the factors to cause such a pricing difference?

Good Evenin Arrow,
Probably whose company name is stencilled on the helmet ! ;):)

/ auto darkening welding helmet #4  
I got a HF one... on sale, without fancy stuff on the helmet... paid attention to the speed of darkening..works fine for me...

/ auto darkening welding helmet #5  
The speed of darkening does matter from the cheaper ones to the intermediate ones, I have had several. also the speed on the "other" side is not as fast to get back from darkness to look at your work and then continue. Size of lens also.some are battery power and some solar.Your eyes are more important than $30-$50 difference, don't go the cheapest route.

/ auto darkening welding helmet #6  
I use a Miller Big Window Elite Miller - Elite Series Welding Helmets
Yes its more expensive. I use it all the time. Variable shade is great. I like having a large window, and my eyes are worth it. Ive tried the Chinese knock offs, they gave me headaches.I have to question their stated response times. Parts arent available locally. Local welding supply laughs at the guys that buy them then try to get parts.

/ auto darkening welding helmet #7  
Here is a helpful E-bay buying guide: BUYING AN AUTO DARKENING OR ELECTRONIC WELDING HELMET.