tig with my LX235 ACDC stick Hobart?

/ tig with my LX235 ACDC stick Hobart? #1  

DavidVT

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota 3430
Looking for a sanity check here.

I used to do some SS tig work with a very simple inverter setup at a previous job. It was simple scratch start stuff and no one's life depended on my welding.

As to stick welding, I am a novice. I am interested in the challenge to follow.....

I have a SS outdoor boiler that is really leaking bad. My plan is to keep limping along with it until the weather warms up here in VT. I then plan to try and find the leaks which I assume will need to be welded. This is an atmospheric boiler so no pressure vessel issues at all. The last owner let if freeze up a few times so I have a good idea the bowed sides are a tell tale sign of seams having been stressed a tad.

If I am up to the challenge, do you think my stick welder with a TIG setup will be good enough for the simple welding I need to do?

Argon bottle setup
Tig torch
SS filler rod
tungstens

Am I missing anything?

Yes, I can probably hire someone to do this minor welding but what is the fun of that?

Then again I will have to make a longer power cord to reach the boiler...
Or will that old Y2K era 5KW coleman have enough juice for 100amps DC or so? hmmmm???

Thx

/ tig with my LX235 ACDC stick Hobart? #2  
Other than contaminating your tungsten every time you scratch start and the point going away, you're fine. Weld away.

Notable mention however, amperage will be off or on. No modulation available, so that'll kinda suck.

Last edited:
   / tig with my LX235 ACDC stick Hobart? #3