Please recommend a good chop saw

/ Please recommend a good chop saw #1  

pharmvet

Platinum Member
Tractor
Ford 7710 II FWA, NH TB110 FWA w/ NH 46LB loader, JD 5303 2wd w/ loader
Ive been borrowing chop saws for the past 20 years from various friends and neighbors. Guess its time to get one for myself. Can you recommend a good brand. This may be the only chop saw I ever purchase so I may as well get one that I can expect to use with little maintenance or problems. Not wanting some chinese made plastic one project use machine. Are there any older mfg. to watch for (auctions, garage sales etc) or should I choose a new one from Milwaukee, Dewalt, Makita, etc.) What are your thoughts.

/ Please recommend a good chop saw #2  
I bought a Dewalt a few years ago and it started to arc around the brushes. The armature was ruined. It was just a bit over a year old at the time. I was telling my neighbor about it and he also had one that he bought a bit before mine. He talked to Dewalt and they sold him a new armature. It also went bad at just over a year old. I was buying some welding rod and talking to the fella working there and he thought I got maybe a cheaper version since it came from Lowes. He talked me into another one that he said he's never had any problems with. It's identical to the both of our previous models but so far it's held up well. I was going to try the Makita brand if this one goes by the wayside.

Topstrap

/ Please recommend a good chop saw #3  
i've got a ridgid 12" chop that i bought 7 or 8 years ago, it has served me well. I've used it on every thing form 4x4 treated fence post to vinyl siding. i usually don't buy store brand (you can only get them from home depot) but when i bought them they came with a life time warranty.
my dad has a dewalt, has had it for about 6 years. i know his break doesn't work any more but other than that his has been trouble free.
good luck

/ Please recommend a good chop saw