What to look on a Plasma Cutter?

/ What to look on a Plasma Cutter? #1  

NOTV8

Silver Member
Tractor
CT235
Any info for the newbie here? What else are needed to start cutting? Not sure if the saying... "buy the biggest you can afford" applies here. Since I used that phrase when I bought my welder :D and not sure if my wife will still agree with me :laughing:. I went to the dealer where I bought the welder but they are close today. No brand loyalty here just wanted the reliable one. Thanks for any input.

/ What to look on a Plasma Cutter? #3  
I like my Everlast PP60 but I have only had it a week or so, can't tell you how reliable it is. If you don't mind spending twice as much I would say the Hypertherm 45 looks like a pretty good unit that'll cut 1" thick steel.

I would say you should decide what you want to do and how think of steel you want to cut. If you'll never cut anything thicker than 1/4" steel then a $2500 Hyperterm 65 would be over kill. If you know you'll be cutting 1" or more than the 45 might be on the small side. It'll do it but it gets a little difficult for the not so experienced operator since your cutting speed is slow.

Just remember that there are added costs. You'll need a compressor, probably 5hp, and a good air drier and you'll need to have enough power in your shop to run both. In my garage I ran a 100 amp line to the sub panel and have a dedicated 50amp outlet just for the welder/ plasma cutter.

/ What to look on a Plasma Cutter? #4  
I have the Hypertherm Powermax 30 and I love it. It cuts up to 3/8" very well. It is also capable of operating on 110 or 220v. Biggest cut I have made in one pass is 3/8" plate 1 foot wide. No problems with duty cycle or compressor keeping up.

/ What to look on a Plasma Cutter? #5  
First thing I'd ask you, do you really need a plasma? They're expensive to buy, expensive to operate, and if you get a big enough one you need a stand alone air compressor.