Use of a welder/generator as only welder

/ Use of a welder/generator as only welder #1  

HCJtractor

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M6800, Massey Ferguson 240
I am new to welding (took my first stick lesson yesterday) but want to get more into it. Since I don't have proper power where I can weld, I would be forced to using a welder/generator exclusively to stick weld or to power my Miller 211 Mig. My question is do any of you guys rely on generator power exclusively? Is the noise and hassle of using a generator going to make welding projects (such as fabrication of a cultipacker or small trailer) unpleasant? The Miller Bobcat 225 is what I plan to buy, but before forking over $3500, just want to make sure this is realistic.

I would weld in a large warehouse (is huge with tall ceilings, clear open spaces, and plenty of ventilation). What leads would you buy? 25' , 50' ?? Any other tips or thoughts? There is just no way that I can build a shop where I live, and my farm/barn has no power source, so this warehouse is where I store my band saw, drill press, gooseneck trailer, pick up, etc. I even spray paint occasionally in there. So its a perfect place, but no 220 outlets that I can find. And since I don't own it, can't add it nor would the owner like me using his power. he did say he had no problem with me welding in there.

/ Use of a welder/generator as only welder #2  
Do you need a welder that size, what type of things are you going to weld? You can get a welder that runs off 110, and will do a multitude of metals, as well as aluminum.

/ Use of a welder/generator as only welder #3  
I have a 225 bobcat on my crane truck for my business. its awesome for doing the infield welding that its designed for. I couldnt imagine using it for indoor use, it would be unbearable.

/ Use of a welder/generator as only welder #4  
i ran a welding rig for quite a few years... you get used to it. you should be using earplugs fabricating anyway.