Clamping your ground to the work surface?

/ Clamping your ground to the work surface? #1  

Perplexed

Silver Member
I've seen several references on this forum about welding a piece of stainless steel to your steel work surface, and clamping your ground to that piece. I can see how the SS would provide you with a clean contact for the ground, but doesn't this mean you'd need to keep the work surface clean where your welding project would come into contact with it? Not only that, but you'd also need to clean off the contact points on the project itself? Seems like a lot of trouble if you can simply clamp the ground directly to the project. What am I missing here?

/ Clamping your ground to the work surface? #2  
I'm no professional welder, although have done my share of it, My next neighbor is in fact a welder buy trade and has an established shop, He works from a steel table/workbench on many things and has a contact point of ground on the bench, he still clamps what ever it is down to the table when welding, I've seen him use a wire brush to clean the area in which he lay down the part to be welded, So yes I would say it needs to be cleaned good in order to get a good weld applied, as far as my welding I always clamp the ground as close to where I'm welding so's as long as the ground clamp is not in my way, just recently I was weldding on my trailer, I have a good clean spot for the ground and while welding on the side of the trailer the ground was clamp to it done good, But when I moved to the other side of the trailer the welding rods start to stick, I moved the ground closer and resolved this problem, so I think the key to good welding is clean surfaces and solid close by grounding,

/ Clamping your ground to the work surface? #3