Which Stick Welder for a New Welder?

/ Which Stick Welder for a New Welder? #1  

Cacinok

Gold Member
Tractor
Case 90XT
If it looks too long to read, just skip to the part by the asterisks (*). LOL.

I just started learning to weld a month or so back - I've wanted to for a long time, but finally made it a priority. A friend loaned me his 110v mig to play with. I'm ready to buy my own, but wish to purchase something I won't grow out of too quick. I've been reading all that I can and will probably take a class this fall or at least spend a bunch of Saturdays with a friend who welds for a living.

My metal building is only wired for 110v and poorly at that. Eventually, I'll get 220v out to it, but want to start welding now, as getting 220v may take a while. That being said, there's a dedicated 220v plug about 50' or so from the metal building (for the master bedroom HVAC wall unit).

I know that I could go w/ a mig and it'd be easier starting out, but I want to learn to stick weld, so I have my sights set on a stick welder, herein lies the question:

***Should I go w/ an older stick (220v) and run a long plug into the existing 220 outlet - knowing that I'd lose power and not be able to run the machine at it's full rated output, which really isn't a problem since I'll just be burning sticks to learn, for now. Are there other issues I should be aware of using a long power cord? Or is this an absolute no-no?

***Or should I go w/ something like the Everlast 140 dual voltage stick/tig welder, knowing that even at 220v it will only put out 140 amps, iirc - will I get frustrated w/ only 140 amps too soon? The price is in the ball park as the 220v stick welders I've been looking at, $229. I could at least be able to learn to weld and will have better (not much) amperage than 110v eventually. I know I'd be hoping that Everlast lasts and they honor their warranty. So some ifs involved here.