Basic Question

/ Basic Question #1  

joeyd

Platinum Member
Tractor
TYM 353HST
I am new to welding and I have a basic question. I had the local metal shop cut and bend some adjustable skids for my 3pt snowblower from 3/8" material. They did the fabrication but not the welding. I have a 220v wire feed that I have been teaching myself to weld with. If I bolt on the brackets then clamp the bottom runners to the brackets is it safe to tack them together while the snow blower is mounted on the tractor? Then I will have a friend weld the pieces together after I have tacked the brackets in the right position on the skids. Will I do any harm to the electrical system of the tractor doing this? Do I have to disconnect the battery? All of my practice welding has been done on scrap on a welding table. My wire feed is only rated for 1/4" per the manufacturer.

P.S. It cost $20.00 to have them fabricated vs. $125.00 from the dealer. :)

/ Basic Question #2  
There's a lot of guys who do weld on their tractors with no problems.
However, newer tractors have a lot more electronics then an old Ford 8N (or even my 11 year old Deere 4400).
Personally, I would disconnect the snow blower...

/ Basic Question #3  
If you ground directly to the piece that you are welding on, you likely won't damage any part of the tractor. I have welded on trucks, cars and tractors and rotating equipment without disconnecting anything with no damage. You must have correctly placed the welding ground and have proper grounding of your home electrical system in order to do this without damage and experience in the procedure to prevent damage also helps.