My Everlast PowerArc 300

/ My Everlast PowerArc 300 #1  

Sublifer

Gold Member
Tractor
LS 4047
I thought I'd post my opinions and experience on my PA300 so far. FWIW: I was not asked to review it. I just wanted to share my opinions for those that may be on the fence considering it and want to hear what an owner has to say about it. Not sure anyone else has posted much about the PA300.

Okay, first off I am not a professional welder. In fact this is only the 3rd time I've used a stick welder. A total of maybe 45 minutes behind the stick with those first two times several years back. I do have a 120v flux core wire welder. 'Tis not scottish but its done the job. I do have about 10 or so hours behind that machine.

So, on to the PA300:
In short, this thing is nice! I haven't really pushed it with it and doubt I ever will. I ran some 5/32 6011 rod on some 1/4 plate. It was ugly for the most part but that is my own fault. Still working on holding it steady and learning and all. I started on some 1/8 6013 which was really ugly. Easy but ugly. I spent about 1.5 hours behind these electrodes and while it never yielded much good, it was a learning experience.

Before I go on, a big part of my crappy welding is that I'm currently doing it over a few pieces of 1" angle on the ground so I'm bent over it all trying to keep myself and the cables clear of the heat and trying to keep my body as well as the electrode steady. It hurt and it sucked. I will get or build a welding table when I can. Hopefully soon!

Okay so after the ugly messes with the 1st two rod types (I did manage the stack of dimes look for a couple of 2" runs with the 6011) then I pulled out some 1/8 7018. When I was able to keep myself steady I had some really good results with it. No its not perfect but again, it was a horrible balancing act the whole time. Here are some pics:
First is a shot of the welder and my work area. A few 6011 runs on those pieces I think.
PA300.jpg