welding tips

/ welding tips #1  

BrettW

Platinum Member
Tractor
Yanmar FF205D
OK, any of you guys got welding tips as to which type of welder a complete novice should get? Bear in mind that price is an issue for me so the 600.00 welder is OUT. It will need to penetrate 3/16 to 1/4 inch square steel tubing. thanks again, brett w

/ welding tips #2  
Man you are opening a can of worms with that question. I'll through in my two cents worth anyway. I have a Lincoln Weldpak 100. It is a 110 volt flux core wire feed welder. For welding 3/16th to 1/4 I get great results. I started out with one of those little 110v buzz box welders as a start and then I bought this one. You can't weld up the real thick stuff like you could a 220 volt stick, but for the novice that wants ease of use and low cost, about $400, it can't be beat. I buy the 10 pound spool of wire and it last me a long time. I can weld up thin sheet metal or bevel some 1/4 inch and weld it up tight. I have welded some pretty heavy duty projects with this welder and I haven't had one of my welds fail yet. I welded hooks to my loader bucket with this thing and they held, welded up 3 point hitches and they held. Sorry this has turned out so long but I think these are great little welders.

/ welding tips #3  
I bought a 110V Century wire welder a few years ago and have been quite happy with it. It can be used with shielding gas or flux core wire. I use only flux core wire. It is too far to the welding shop for gas refills. Personally, I would be leary of building a ROPS with it. I have been told flux core wire welds are not likely to be as strong as those made with a stick welder. A 220V buzz box is not very expensive and in my opinion a better bet for strong welds.

reb

/ welding tips #4  
Brett, I would stay with a major brand name (lincoln-Miller)
I would look in the newspaper for a used one,with the dough you are looking to part with.
I just retired my welding biss of 18 yrs.