Grounding Welding Table - ????

/ Grounding Welding Table - ???? #1  

crash325

Elite Member
Tractor
New Holland TC-45
I plan on putting several 110 Volt outlets on my welding table. Was thinking about using the table as a ground.

But since it is also the ground for the welder, there may be some kind of feed back into the 110V line and really screw things up.

Latest Idea - Isolate the table from the 110V LINE
Ground table to a real ground - As in mother earth.

Sure like to hear from some of you folks on the subject.

Thank You

/ Grounding Welding Table - ???? #2  
I'm not seeing the point in earthing the table. You definitely should NOT tie the 110 outlets to the table. I've had some smokey experiences from unforseen ground loops and power supplies while working in the field.

/ Grounding Welding Table - ????
I'm not seeing the point in earthing the table. - Just a thought - You definitely should NOT tie the 110 outlets to the table. I've had some smokey experiences from unforseen ground loops and power supplies while working in the field.

Thanks for your ideas - Had pretty much decided not the ground 110v to table.

/ Grounding Welding Table - ???? #4  
Ditto
I wouldn't tie the table to the outlets. Seems like a shocking experience. We don't need the extra fires in the SW :fiery:

RC

/ Grounding Welding Table - ???? #5  
Can't see any reason to tie the table to ground. You've got a ground clamp on the welder that does the job when it comes to welding. In fact, to optimize the welding process you need to place the ground clamp as near to the workpiece as you can (or better yet - ON the workpiece).

/ Grounding Welding Table - ???? #6