Considering my first welder.

/ Considering my first welder. #1  

Bwgad96

Silver Member
Tractor
Wayy to many.
Hi, I have some experience with gasless mig welding and was very impressed with it portability and ease of use. I dont know much about other forms of welding, but I want to look at buying my first welder.I will mostly be welding sheet metal for tractors and trucks along with small projects. It must be able to plug into a regular wall socket and preferrable no tanks. this is what i am considering buying. thanks
https://m.northerntool.com/northerntool/product/detail.do?itemId=167746

/ Considering my first welder. #2  
If it was me , I would look at the 140 instead , twice as much in $$$ but likely twice as good also . Look on Craigslist , also look for the SP135 Lincoln . Same as the 140 just older model .
That is the one I have , SP135 model , And you will be surprised at what you are able to do . But here is the downside , Thinner medals can be tricky since as you stated , no bottle of gas , so that limits you to fluxcore wire and smallest I have found was .030 . Try welding 20 gauge with .030 = low amps , slow wire feed , and move FAST !! Can be done but it can also be frustrating .

Fred H.

/ Considering my first welder. #3  
i would get a Lincoln 140.

/ Considering my first welder.
Thank you for your replys , what are the pros and cons of a 140?

/ Considering my first welder. #5  
how does Lincoln compare with Hobart?

/ Considering my first welder. #6  
how does Lincoln compare with Hobart?