Elite Member
    Tractor
    Bobcat CT225

Default BBQ smoker modification

My neighbor was given a BBQ/smoker in exchange for some work he did. The firebox has its air intake and damper on the side wall, close to the smoke chamber. What this means is that the air goes past one corner of the fire. That corner quickly burns out while the rest of the wood smolders. I volunteered to fix it for him, since is was a chance to be useful, and also a chance to get some welding practice in on somebody else's equipment. I'm a rookie enough welder that I would never volunteer to do anything where life or limb was involved, but a BBQ smoker... what's the worst that could happen? The 1/4" plate it was made of even gives me a pretty low chance of burning through.

-2012-11-15-20-13-a

Here's the firebox of the smoker.

-2012-11-15-20-14-a

Detail of the intake and damper. Fortunately, the original fabricator only used three small tack welds to hold the damper's track on, so they were pretty easy to grind out. What worked best was to cut mostly through the weld with an cutting wheel, then use a chisel and mallet to pry the track free.

The lower-right-most weld was inaccessible to the grinder. I cut out the other two welds and then worked the chisel toward the third one. Fortunately, it gave way without bending the track itself.

-2012-11-16-15-21-a

Surface prep on one of the tracks.

-2012-11-16-15-34-a

I was tempted to try to weld the damper back on in place, but I decided that today was not the day to start trying to learn out-of-position welds. Especially on somebody else's project. So I lay the whole thing on its side and propped the door open. In this photo, I've used the soapstone pencil to mark where I need to grind away rust for the new welds. There is a removable piece of bar stock at the bottom-front of the firebox to keep the ash in. The air intake needed to clear it, so I took the bar out and used it as a spacer and straight-edge for placing the bottom track.