StickWeld 250 Torture Test + Full Review (Video and Write-Up)

/ StickWeld 250 Torture Test + Full Review (Video and Write-Up) #1  

ChuckE2009

Silver Member
Good morning everyone!!

So a little while back (last November), the guys at Longevity sent out a nice new StickWeld 250 for me to try out, review, put in videos, etc...

I was a little skeptical at first, because I'd never welded with an inverter before, and although I really like the plasma cutter they sent out earlier, lets face it, some Longevity products get mixed reviews, but this has a very high duty cycle (100% at 200 Amps) which is great for me, and something I really wanted. I was more than happy to try it out...

Anyway, once I opened it up, I had my first problem. There wasnt a plug on it... Okay, that's not the end of the world, I'll just wire one too it. I'm not an electrician, but I've done it before and it can't be that hard, right?

Well, there were four wires that came from it's cord.. And three that go into the plug. The manual didn't help, so I posted my question online, and I got a hold of Longevity's customer support shortly later, got everything wired up, and we were set!!

The little machine came to life... The fan is a little loud (not annoying, but you defiantly know its running). It can really move some air, sucks it in the back of the machine and forces it out the front and sides...

The fan runs non-stop, which I like. I've used a handful of machines with fan-on-demand or somesuch features, and the only one of them that actually works right is my Hypertherm Powermax 45. For example, on my Precision tig, if you weld with it for 3-4 seconds making a tack, the fan will run for like ten minutes even though there's no way that got the machine warmed up. If you weld for several minites with it, and then turn it off and power it back up, the fan won't kick back on... Thus, my personal preference is that the fan just always runs...