Another looking for a welder guidance thread

/ Another looking for a welder guidance thread #1  

IXLR8

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kioti DK-40SE
I am getting a bonus this year, about $1000, so that is about my budget. I have an O/A setup I have been using for the last 30 years, self taught, I get the job done but it is not pretty. I tried stick welding about 35 years ago with an old gas powered Lincoln, mid-60's vintage, and didn't have much luck with it. Most of what I will be doing with it is body/exhaust work with an occasional repair to some of my tractor implements, which are generally about 1/4" thick steel or less. If I get good at it, there maybe some .030 steel tubing for art work down the road. Most of what I will be doing is steel, but I think I might want the option to do aluminum, if it doesn't break the bank to get there. I don't see any stainless steel work in my future. I like the way a good TIG weld looks, so that is the direction I am leaning. I understand it will take me more work with TIG than MIG to learn to make a good weld and from quick looking around.. the TIG machine will also cost more. I have a shot at a Miller Syncrowave 300 with all accessories, no bottle, for $800.00, but I only have 60 amp service to my shop and no plans, $$$, to upgrade in near future. I am leaning towards a new inverter machine but I am thinking there are some good used 'old school' machines that would suit my needs for less money, I just need to be educated about them. This will strictly be for personal, occasional, 1-2 times per month use, I am open to new or used, what would you recommend and why. I am also going to need a gas bottle, face shield and most all the accessories that go with arc welding as well, so I need to keep them in mind when spending $$$. I am trying to find a local place to get some arc weld training, but not having much luck. The nearest good welding supply place is about 45 miles from me. I might try what I saw somebody else do, post an add on