One more time - duty cycle.

/ One more time - duty cycle. #1  

firedog

Gold Member
Tractor
FarmTrac 300DTC
Had to have another discussion with my 20 year old son about duty cycle. :(
He's been taking welding classes at the local college, working toward his certificate.
Been thru stick 1 & 2 plus some other classes. Now taking a TIG class. I bought a Miller Thunderbolt when he started and told him it would be his to keep when he got his certificate. He also has access to my Lincoln Ranger and 140 MIG machines.

He came and told me the other day he would have to by me another MIG machine. :eek: The gun lead caught fire at the machine.
Well, the machine is OK, I'll just have to replace the gun.
I knew exactly what he had done. Went out to practice laying bead on some 1/2" plate and had the machine turned all the way up. the cable burnt up right where it attaches to the sheath coming out of the machine. :mad:

Very important. I'm no professional by any means. Mostly self taught. But if your looking for a welding machine, it's something you need to consider. It's basically the amount of time in a ten minute period you can actually weld. My MIG has a rating of 20% at full bore. It's considered a hobbyist machine at best.
When looking to purchase, it's usually a balance of what you need and what you can afford. Typically, the cheaper the machine, the lighter the components, the lower the duty cycle. The machine may serve you well at first, but as you progress, and become more proficient at welding, the machine hasn't. Keep an eye on that duty cycle.;)

/ One more time - duty cycle. #2  
For general fab work around the house, where you're cutting fitting, welding, cutting fitting welding, etc, etc, I would think 60% is OK. I've been on jobs where all you did for 8 to 10 to 12-hours a day for 6 to 7-days a week was pull the trigger, burning 70 + pounds of wire a day, now this is where you want 100% duty cycle. :laughing:

/ One more time - duty cycle. #3