Welding benches

/ Welding benches #1  

daugen

Super Star Member
Tractor
in between now
as an utter newbie, I need some help here. I see lots of nice welding tables, some pretty lightweight looking, with the grates in the middle.
Do I really need one of these things? Should a welding cart always roll in order to get it outside on a nice day? Just stick welding to start.

Another challenge I have is I need a new very heavy duty workbench. I have a big vice to mount on it, an old one that proudly has USA on the side, but
I don't have a table strong enough to really whale on when needed. I see the HF one, it looks too lightweight for me.
Wondering if I'm better off just making one with two by fours on their sides. I'm a decent woodworker, not great for sure, but I don't want the silly thing
to wobble on me. I have a fair bench in my basement shop, but I am NOT stupid enough to weld in my basement....particularly in a wood shop full of combustibles.

I've been looking on Craigslist; this would be perfect to find used. Do I need an all metal bench, or should I cover the wood with a top layer of metal?
I'm looking for function, not form here.

Can you guys show me some pics of your benches? Thanks. Drew

/ Welding benches #2  

Attachments

• Weld table.jpg
    Weld table.jpg
    48 KB · Views: 714
  • work bench 2.jpg
    work bench 2.jpg
    38.9 KB · Views: 528
   / Welding benches #4  
IMG_1184.JPGIMG_1183.JPG
as an utter newbie, I need some help here. I see lots of nice welding tables, some pretty lightweight looking, with the grates in the middle.
Do I really need one of these things? Should a welding cart always roll in order to get it outside on a nice day? Just stick welding to start.

Another challenge I have is I need a new very heavy duty workbench. I have a big vice to mount on it, an old one that proudly has USA on the side, but
I don't have a table strong enough to really whale on when needed. I see the HF one, it looks too lightweight for me.