Harris Brazing Rod ???

/ Harris Brazing Rod ??? #1  

Gordon Gould

Tractor
Kubota L3010DT, Kubota M5640SUD, Dresser TD7G Dozer
I inherited an older Linde torch set. It came with a old 10 lb tube of 1/8" X 36" flux coated brazing rods that I am trying to identify. The rods are Harris. I can barely make out the label. I think it says

ALLOY F C WHITE HEAT 712 *K
1 FB

Does anyone know what this is ? Some of the label is a bit of a guess especially the Heat. It looks like it might be a flux coated bronze rod. But I am pretty new to this stuff,
Thanks

/ Harris Brazing Rod ??? #2  
Looks like you are missing some of the wording. I would say that something should be in front of as in xxxxx alloy FC ( for flux coating) white (color of flux-they also had a blue color flux although I am not sure what the significance was) and the heat number is for identifying the batch number of the alloy rod. Perhaps someone with more brazing experience will help.

/ Harris Brazing Rod ??? #3  
Its simply Low Fuming ronze. Or..Brazing rod. ( I used to sell the stff ) The 1 is actually an L for Low fuming bronze. The flux may not be any good anymore but if need be you can knock it off there and buy a can of flux to dip into.

/ Harris Brazing Rod ??? #4  
My first thought was that the flux would likely be long gone. As yomax said, get a can of flux, and dip them. I think it is under $20 for the flux, and a can lasts a long time.

/ Harris Brazing Rod ???
Hey yomax4 - Thankyou very much. Out of curiosity what happens to the flux with time? The rods are still fully coated with a thick layer of white. Does the canned flux have a shelf life also ?
Thanks again

/ Harris Brazing Rod ??? #6  
The flux will simply fall off after a while or reduce down to where it doesn't flux correctly. In that case you will need to buy a can of flux as posted above. I think it works better to dip in the can than to have the pre fluxed rods but use them up if you braze..

/ Harris Brazing Rod ??? #7