What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder?

/ What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder? #1  

Piston

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L4610 Hitachi UH083LC
I've had a Lincoln Electric 115v wire feed welder for a number of years now. It is one of those Home Chepot specials that I paid around $400 for maybe 8 or 9 years ago.

I would like to build an extension for my sawmill. The current steel for the track is 2x6x1/8" and I would like to use 2x6x3/16" thick for the extension. It's not much more money and should give me more strength and less flex. Can I weld this with my welder?

It will obviously be holding heavy logs and is subject to a decent amount of weight/forces. The welder can supposedly weld 1/4" but I've never used it for anything over 1/8" before, and that was just a quick repair on something that didn't hold much weight.

I know this isn't ideal, but its what I have....for now.

/ What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder? #2  
In a word, no, not enough of a machine for that kind of a build, it's probably maxed out at 1/8"......Mike

/ What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder? #3  
You could bevel slightly with a grinder and or pre heat to 800 degrees. .035 flux core or .030 hard wire. Weave bead or multiple passes. Single pass would concern me a little on 3/16 and 1/4" is a stretch.

/ What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder? #4  
you could get some steel the size you are planning to use and make some test welds. Pound them apart with a hammer and see how they break.

/ What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder? #5  
In a word, no, not enough of a machine for that kind of a build, it's probably maxed out at 1/8"......Mike

Yes,

Turn up to max amps and wire speed to 3-4

If your worried give both pieces a good bevel first.

/ What can i weld with a Licoln Electric 115v welder? #6