Bought a Miller Multimatic 200

/ Bought a Miller Multimatic 200 #1  

Sodo

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B-series & Mini Excavator
Before I unbox it and crank it up?. Does anybody have experience with this machine? Should I go ahead and make it a "used" machine or return it, and in that case what is a better portable?

I've been using a 120v Miller 135 for 8 years and it suits about 90% of my needs. When it's windy outside I need a stick welder. Sometimes I have to weld thicker than 1/4". I do not weld commercially, only for personal projects. 30% Duty cycle is more than adequate. Portability is important. I have no useful TIG experience except screwing around once with no instruction. I bought the spoolgun too but haven't bought anything else for Aluminum yet.

Would be great to hear from anyone who is UNHAPPY with this machine as a MIG or a stick, NOT just by reading the specs or reading on the internet but actual use.

Genuine experience SPECIFICALLY with regard to the MultiMatic 200 on steel projects (less than 3/8" steel) will help the most.

/ Bought a Miller Multimatic 200 #2  
I think only you can answer that question. Try it out and see if it does what you want and if you like how it works. Did you buy it at a discount or something? It seems odd to be asking about it after the fact. :confused:

/ Bought a Miller Multimatic 200
Not a big discount, just the Buy Blue 10% rebate. Its odd that the universe has conspired to allow no time to even unbox it but does allow time for internet access :confused:.

During this time I have come across a lot of negative comments about the Multimatic 200 but its not apparent that these comments are based on experience with the machine. Just need some truth. :D

/ Bought a Miller Multimatic 200 #4