Acceptable Stress in final welds for mild steel

/ Acceptable Stress in final welds for mild steel #1  
K

kousnetz

I'm MIG welding a portable welding table which will have 1/2 or 5/8" top, legs are 2x3", 1/8" thick, 30" long. Legs are welded to a 1/4" thick subframe of 2" flat stock. I'll also reinforce it with a "shelf" welded with 1/4" thick 2x2 angle iron. Final size will be 3'x4'. Question: I've welded legs to the subframe and 2 of them a very slightly out of plumb... I can bring them to perfect plumb with a bar clamp which pulls them together 5/8" over a 33" span. Is this OK to use the cross bracing welding to hold them plumb or am I putting too much stress on the cross bracing? I'm very new to welding and appreciate any advice. Thanks

/ Acceptable Stress in final welds for mild steel #2  
NO. Keeping things plumb, square, and in alignment is a common problem due to the heat of the welding process. spring your legs into plumb weld the bracing and good to go.
Keep in mind heat expands the welded joint thus causing. in this case, the angle iron leg to expand away from the welded side. The deviation can be eliminated (mostly) by tacking the parts together first,checking the alignments and then weld one side of the angle heel to toe and the other side of the angle toe to heel. The opposing forces of the welding heat should result in things ending up pretty square
Be sure to clean the tacks well so they will be swallowed up in your final pass for the strongest joint

/ Acceptable Stress in final welds for mild steel #3  
I wouldn't think twice about holding them plumb with the cross bracing.
Or you can break out the torch and do a little heat shrinking before welding in the cross bracing.;)

Attachments

• angle iron.JPG
    angle iron.JPG
    24 KB · Views: 113
  • Angle Iron fast.JPG
    Angle Iron fast.JPG
    14.9 KB · Views: 106
  • Angle Iron slow.JPG
    Angle Iron slow.JPG
    15.9 KB · Views: 92
   / Acceptable Stress in final welds for mild steel