Help choosing 240v generator for MIG welder?

/ Help choosing 240v generator for MIG welder? #1  

Sodo

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota B-series & Mini Excavator
It would be great to hear from someone with actual experience using "normal generators" for welding. I am a hobby/maintenance welder, don't need pro-level eqpt, just need it to work for the occasions when I need the 1/4" & thicker settings. If I were to guess - I would need it to work for 2 hours per year for 20 years (without consuming funds that I could use for other tools & stuff! )

I tried to run the MultiMatic 200 off a 5000W (21A) generator and it could only push the 1/4" thickness preset (on 230v).

Attachments

• Coleman-Powerbase-5000W-nameplate.jpg
    Coleman-Powerbase-5000W-nameplate.jpg
    70.5 KB · Views: 395
  • Miller-MultiMatic200-presets.jpg
    Miller-MultiMatic200-presets.jpg
    373.7 KB · Views: 644
Last edited:
   / Help choosing 240v generator for MIG welder?
Ooops just called MillerWelds and asked a Tech. (tech suppt 1-866-931-9733)

For 230v welding the MultiMatic200 can operate at full power from any generator that is rated 7200W or higher (continuous).
For 115v welding at full power (1/4" preset) requires a generator rated at 4900W continuous per 115v outlet. Take note that 5,000w generators can generally only output only 2500w into each of two 115v outlets.

The tech said any generator of reasonable quality should work fine.

The MultiMatic 200 does not care much about the quality of the input power. It converts everything it gets to DC, then inverts it to the power configuration that it wants (to weld with). I did not ask about other welders (such as the 211).

Last edited:
   / Help choosing 240v generator for MIG welder? #3  
Ooops just called MillerWelds and asked a Tech. (tech suppt 1-866-931-9733)